汇丰在香港

香港上海汇丰银行有限公司是汇丰集团的始创成员。 汇丰于1865年成立,为亚洲 和欧洲之间日趋频繁的商贸活动提供资金,现已发展成为于香港注册成立的最大规模的银行。

该行在亚洲地区提供一系列个人金融、工商金融及企业银行等金融服务。 汇丰的中文意思为“汇聚财富”或“汇款丰裕”。

汇丰历史

苏格兰人汤马士‧修打兰(Thomas Sutherland)当年担任铁行轮船公司的香港监督,他了解到香港及中国沿海地区对本地银行信贷需求殷切。 他在成立香港上海汇丰银行上担当了重要的角色,而香港上海汇丰银行于1865年3月在香港开业,总行大厦设于皇后大道中1号。

汇丰于该年开始在香港及中国发行钞票,以刺激及促进贸易发展,并迅速成为香港的主要发钞行。

1935年,汇丰重建总行大厦,成为香港首座设有空调的建筑物。

二战期间,汇丰被迫将总行从香港迁至伦敦。 但汇丰于1946年把总部迁回香港,并为重建香港战后经济发挥了重要作用。

1965年,汇丰收购于1933年在香港成立的恒生银行的股份,并成为控股股东。

于1992年收购米特兰银行(Midland Bank)之后,汇丰控股有限公司将全球总部设于英国。 香港办公室仍然是香港上海汇丰银行有限公司的总部,汇丰致力于推动其诞生地的未来发展。

财务信息

如欲了解集团的财务资料,请浏览集团全球网站的投资者关系 部分。如欲了解恒生银行以及香港上海汇丰银行有限公司及其澳门分行的业绩资料,请浏览子公司报告网站 。该网站仅提供英文版本。


社区

进一步了解汇丰及其员工服务社区[可链接]的工作,包括汇丰银行慈善基金的相关信息。

我们的环境、社会及管治报告

了解我们为客户提供更便捷银行服务及支持所在社区可持续发展的最新动态

总行大厦

汇丰的香港总行大厦仍位于银行创立时的地址。 目前这座总行大厦由霍朗明勋爵 (Lord Norman Foster) 设计,于1986年启用。

总行大厦共有52层,设有62部自动扶梯,可容纳5,000名员工。 整座建筑动用了27,000吨钢料和32,000平方米玻璃, 所有内墙均属活动间隔,可根据需要随意调整办公室的布局设计。

霍朗明勋爵再次受委任设计汇丰伦敦总部。

皇后大道中1号

  • 高178.8米
  • 深入地下34米
  • 共52层
  • 可容纳5,000名员工
  • 使用27,000公吨钢材
  • 30,000公吨铝
  • 35,000立方米混凝土
  • 32,000平方米玻璃

有关汇丰环球业务和集团董事会成员的详情,请浏览汇丰网站  该网站仅提供英文版本。

HSBC in Hong Kong

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited is the founding member of the HSBC Group. Established in 1865 to finance the growing trade between Asia and Europe, it has become the biggest bank incorporated in Hong Kong.

The bank provides a range of personal, commercial and corporate banking financial services across Asia. HSBC is known in Cantonese as “Wayfoong”, which means “focus of wealth” or “abundance of remittances.”

HSBC’s history

Thomas Sutherland, a Scot who was working as the Hong Kong Superintendent of the Peninsular and Oriental Steam Navigation Company, recognised that there was considerable demand for local banking facilities in Hong Kong and along the China coast. He played a leading role in establishing the new bank and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation opened for business in Hong Kong in March 1865 with its headquarters at 1 Queen's Road Central.

It began issuing bank notes in Hong Kong and China that year to stimulate and accelerate trade and quickly became Hong Kong’s principal note issuer.

In 1935, HSBC redeveloped its head office, creating Hong Kong’s first air-conditioned building.

During the Second World War, the bank was forced to move its head office from Hong Kong to London. However, it moved back in 1946 and HSBC played a key role in the reconstruction of the Hong Kong economy after the war.

In 1965, HSBC bought a controlling interest in Hang Seng Bank, which had been founded in Hong Kong in 1933.

HSBC Holdings plc established its global headquarters in the UK after the acquisition of Midland Bank in 1992. The Hong Kong office remains the headquarters of the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation, however, and HSBC is committed to the future of its birthplace.

Financial information

For financial information please visit the investor relations  section on our global corporate website. This includes financial and regulatory reports , results for Hang Seng Bank Limited and The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited and the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited - Macau branch.


Community

Find out about the work that HSBC and its employees do in the community, including information about the Hongkong Bank Foundation.

Current headquarters

The bank’s office in Hong Kong is still at the same address as when it was first founded.  The current building, designed by Lord Norman Foster, opened in 1986.

The building has 52 floors, 62 escalators and accommodates 5,000 staff. It is made of 27,000 tonnes of steel and 32,000m2 of glass. All internal walls are made of movable partitions so that office layouts can be changed and modified as required.

Lord Foster was also commissioned to design the main HSBC office in London.

1 Queen’s Road Central

  • 178.8 metres high
  • 34 metres below ground
  • 52 levels
  • 5,000 staff
  • 27,000 tonnes of steel
  • 30,000 tonnes of aluminium
  • 35,000 m3 of concrete
  • 32,000 m2 of glass

For details about HSBC’s global operations and Group board members, go to our corporate website . Please note this is English language only.

You are leaving about.hsbc.com.hk

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.